Sign in | 中文 |
Tianjin University

News & Events

Institute News

Seven geoscientists appointed as Honorary Professors of TJU

2018-04-02 3834


On 27th March, 7 leading scientists,Prof. William E. Dietrich, Philippe Van Cappellen, Jérome Gaillardet, Harry Vereecken, Kimitaka Kawamura, Steven A. Banwart, and Timothy A. Quine - were appointed as Honorary Professors of Tianjin University following their nomination by the Institute of Surface-Earth System Science (ISESS).

The appointment ceremony was hosted by Dr. ZHANG Chunyan, Deputy Director of the TJU Office of International Cooperation. Prof. LIU Congqiang, Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, introduced the research specialities and achievements of the 7 scientists, and he stated that the ISESS will continue to strengthen cooperation with world-class scholars and research institutions to jointly promote the advancement of geoscience. TJU Vice President Hu Wenping awarded the Certificate of Honor to the professors and offered them his sincere welcome to Tianjin University. He also expressed the hope that the appointments would facilitate increased international collaboration  in the near future.

Concluding the ceremony, Prof. Jérome Gaillardet spoke on behalf of the 7 honorary professors to recognise their pride in receiving the highest honor bestowed by the University and the commitment of the professors to promote more international cooperation and enhance Tianjin University’s influence in the field of geoscience.

Prof. William E. Dietrich, University of California, Berkeley, Fellow of the US National Academy Sciences and American Academy of Arts and Sciences;
Prof. Philippe Van Cappellen, University of Waterloo, Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and the Geochemical Society;
Prof. Jérome Gaillardet, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, Fellow of the Geochemical Society;
Prof. Harry Vereecken, University of Bonn, director of Agrosphere (IBG-3), Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH;
Prof. Kimitaka Kawamura, Chubu University, Fellow of the Geochemical Society;
Prof. Steven A. Banwart, University of Leeds, director of Global Food and Environment Insitute;
Prof. Timothy A. Quine, University of Exeter, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, member of National and International Working Groups on Geomorphology.